Spreading my wings…

12/29/2009 at 5:22 PM (Uncategorized)

The other night I was driving by the ocean and realized it was sunset.  The sky was completely gray except for a strip of color.  I pulled over and walked to the beach and WOW!  What a site, the ribbon running through the gray was orange, red, yellow, and a beautiful coral.  The water was still lit with the sky so it had a deep blue almost black look to it and the beach breaks were huge.  I was able to savor the moment of being blessed by mother nature and enveloped in her awesomeness.  The rhythm of the waves soothed the fear that will sit in my stomach and mildly ache so I could practice having faith that I am right where I need to be.  I was at a meeting where the topic was faith and the quote was…”courage is fear that has said its prayers.”  I know I am saying my prayers and my prayers are being answered.

I went for a run and decided I didn’t want to just back track and I wanted to up my mileage a little.  So off I went down a road and then took a left and took another left thinking that I could make one more left and I would be back at my starting point, not so much.  The second left took me deep into a housing development with no way out.  I could feel the frustration brewing because I didn’t get what I wanted and then…poof!..I got it.  I don’t get to know, ever, where my roads are leading.  I may have a plan but I don’t have a map so I get to experience everything in nano-seconds and THAT is my job.  I am always right where I need to be and I can always go back the way I came to gather more information and try again.  When I clocked the run, I realized I had doubled my mileage so I still got what I wanted. 

Last night I was looking up at the sky and in the break of the clouds there was an image of a bird with its wings spread out.  What a metaphor for me.  I have always known I have wings and now I get to see how big they are and how strong they are.  I have people who are dear to me keeping a space for me to return and so I know I can go farther, faster, and longer then I have ever been able to go and because of their love, I have faith I won’t disappear.

Permalink 1 Comment