The planning and the enjoying…

01/13/2010 at 1:46 PM (Uncategorized)

I have had a hard time putting into words what this trip is about for me.  I have already written about how I have found what I am looking for, now I am practicing in my faith.  Today I am struggling with the word vacation.  I have this warped sense about vacation, when I think of vacation I think of  lounging on the beach, activity itineraries starting at 6 in the morning and ending at 9 at night, I feel like a taker from the local communities, a walking wallet giving money but not sharing my soul. The definitions for vacation are: taking a leisure rest from work (dictionary.die.net) and taking a rest from regular duty (New Webster’s Dictionary).  So I am taking a vacation, a rest from regular duties in Prescott and my massage practice and I am grateful for the well wishes.  Now I get to put a spin on my vacation.  As I set out I want to vacation with intent, I get to become conscious of how I impact the people and  cultures I will be visiting.  I don’t want to cram my days so full with activities I forget to experience the sounds, the smells, the senses of the places I will be traveling.   I get to remember that some of the best things in life are free, I don’t need to buy things to remember, I can write about the experiences, or take pictures.  Walking through a market I can take a moment to observe the chaos around me instead of jumping in to make more. Seeing someone smile in passing can enrich our lives in ways neither of us can understand we just get to have faith. In just a few days I will be leaving this beautiful paradise once again to embark on my vacation.  I can travel with intent, the intent to nurture my faith, and to carry a bit of hope to the rest of the world.  What a cool sounding vacation!

I have put off buying the next ticket because I was scared I would make the wrong decision.  I thought fear and doubt kept me safe but that is bull all they do is make it harder to make decisions.  Today I can remember I have choices.  If I want to leave earlier I can leave earlier, or if I want to stay (granted the visa things) I can stay longer.  Itineraries aren’t set in stone.  Being in fear and doubt do not serve me in the long run only spreading my wings and jumping can I know the truth of safety.  The next obstacle is to get my ticket funds in the right accounts so I can buy my next ticket to…. well, you will just have to wait and see.

Permalink Leave a Comment