“Give me the courage to be imperfect.”

01/14/2010 at 11:58 PM (Uncategorized)

I have 58 hours to buy my next plane ticket from Thailand to ??? and I had a melt down.  The world is at my fingertips and I can’t decide where to go, too many choices.  I feel like a child in a candy store and if I choose the chocolate roll then what about the chocolate bar, and if I get the chocolate bar then what about the lolly pop, and what about the licorice, and, and, and.  No wonder children have melt downs in candy stores.  So this morning I went through my melt down, had a time out to pout and as I was sitting on the break wall watching the surf and writing about my dilemma a lady bug landed on my leg.  I have to back track to my childhood when my Dad was stationed on Bill Williams Mountain as the fire lookout.  During the summer my family would pack up and move up to a cabin at the top of my world.  I would romp and play in nature looking after the squirrels with Kix cereal helping to look for fires with my Dad, and enjoying the embrace of hundreds of ladybugs. The ladybugs would stay on the top of my world I would sit for periods of time letting them crawl and explore my arms and legs.  I so enjoyed those ladybugs, how could I pout with this old friend coaxing me to remember my perfectness.  I don’t have to make a decision today, I don’t have to worry about missing out.  I will get the perfect piece of candy for this moment.  And tomorrow when I attempt to go to the candy store I get to remember all I have to do is grab a piece and enjoy savoring all the flavors for just that moment.  I know it won’t be my last piece and as long as I enjoy and savor my chosen piece I won’t be missing out.  All of this from a ladybug, oh the gifts I am given!

To make it better I would catch huge whale splashes off in the horizon.  These whales are so amazing, they will slap the water with their pectoral fins, their tails, and then throw their bodies out of the water to drop back into the water with an enormous splash called breaching.  So with these splashes I kept catching from the corner of my eye I decided to watch for them.  Straight out in front of me there seemed to be something happening where there was a huge splash like a breach and then another smaller breach splash.  I couldn’t figure out if it one whale doing it all or was it a mother and baby?  So I said a quick request that I see clearly; it was a baby and its mother, another great gift!

In a conversation today I was reminded that in this trip I am the adult and I am the child.  I have the wonder lust of a child and I have the means of an adult.  I get to take myself to those far off exotic places that I can only dream of and as I am doing that I need to remember to honor the fact that as a child needs play, I need play!  So I have done just that, I had dinner with a some friends last night, went to visit with a friend and meet her 6 week old, and this evening the family went to a park and hit golf balls.  We all had clubs even little Ayden, and off we went.  By the time the 5 gallon bucket was empty and the sun was setting we actually were doing pretty good.  On our way up to our “driving range” Becca and I were able to share the type of laughter that makes your side hurt and tears stream down your cheeks.  And the best part is that I couldn’t tell you what was so funny if I remembered.  So the little girl in me is happy and content and my adult is also feeling pretty darn good too.

Permalink Leave a Comment